The Benefits of Using Grapeseed Oil

As a naturalista, I am pretty sure you use some type of oil on your hair.  Whether it’s coconut oil, extra virgin olive oil, or castor oil – you are probably familiar with them all. At different times, and for different reasons, I happen to use all of the above.  I have noticed that my hair really loves grapeseed oil, therefore I have made it a regular part of my healthy hair care regimen.

Grapeseed oil is an excellent choice for both your skin, and for your hair. It is very lightweight, so it does not weigh your hair down. Grapeseed oil is high in linoleic acid which is a type of omega-6 fatty acid, and rich in antioxidants.  It is also rich in Vitamin E, which is essential for hair growth. This oil helps to strengthen your hair from root to tip.  One of the reason’s I love using grapeseed oil is because it does not leave my hair with a greasy feel, and it does a great job sealing in moisture.

Grape Seed Oil

Not only do I use grapeseed oil on my hair, but I use it on my body as well It is an excellent moisturizer and helps to combat dry skin.

How I Use Grapeseed Oil:

  1. I gently massage it into my scalp to moisturize my scalp and combat dryness.
  2. I use it as a sealant for my hair. I apply it after washing my hair to help seal in moisture.
  3. I use it as a hot oil treatment for my hair.
  4. I use it as a skin moisturizer.  I add a small amount of  grapeseed oil to my whipped body butter to enhance its moisturizing effects.  Because grapeseed oil is odorless, I sometimes use it alone after a bath or shower in the place of my normal coconut oil.

How do you use grapeseed oil?  Let us know in the comments.

 

Leave a Reply

