My Natural Hair Journey

I have been wearing my hair natural for 8 years now.  When I first went natural, I chose to big chop as opposed to transitioning. I wanted to feel that sense of immediate gratification.  There were a few times in the beginning of my journey that I considered going back to the “creamy crack,” but I am glad that I stuck it out.


I went through a long process of trying to find what actually works for my hair.  I consider myself a “reformed”’ product junkie.  At the beginning of my journey, I tried almost every product on the shelf hoping that it would work for my hair the same way it worked for another individual.  I eventually learned that we all have different textures of hair and that not all products work the same for each person.

I have gone through a big chop five times since originally going natural.  I am currently rocking a TWA now.  I consider myself a lazy natural.  Meaning that I don’t want to spend an excessive amount of time styling my hair.  I actually think I’m burned out from the days of perming my hair and spending so much time flat ironing and curling and what not. I also think the joys of motherhood and having to keep up with my son has a bit to do with that as well. Presently, short hair is just so much easier for me to maintain.  I will probably eventually let it grow back out, but I am enjoying this stage right now.


To care for my hair, I co-wash weekly.  I shampoo every other week unless I have product buildup, then I’ll shampoo more frequently using a clarifying shampoo. I always use a leave-in conditioner and I deep condition my hair every other week.  I follow the LCO (liquid, cream, oil) method after washing my hair.   This method works better for my hair.  I have used olive, coconut, grapeseed and jojoba oils on my hair.  My hair seems to like grapeseed oil best.  It’s very light and does a great job when it comes to sealing my hair.  When it comes to styling, I use either Care Free Curl Gold activator to add a bit of moisture and shine, at other times all I use is Luster’s Pink Oil Moisturizer. Yes, they are old-school, but they work great on my tiny fro.

I love my hair and again, I am so thankful that I kept it natural instead of going back to the relaxer.  How is your natural hair journey going?  Have any of you fallen off the wagon and decided to go back to relaxing?

 

 

4 thoughts on “My Natural Hair Journey

Leave a Reply

